Professional Footballers Australia Home

PFA Awards

The PFA’s player recognition program acknowledges the significant achievements of PFA members in the many different dimensions of a footballer’s life.  The program rewards members who have achieved on field excellence, excelled in areas away from the field of play, contributed to other eras of Australian football or made contributions to fellow professionals that have transformed the career paths enjoyed by the footballers of today.

Click on the viedeo below to see post event comments from Harry Kewell and the PFA's inaugural Footballer of the Year Tim Cahill. (Please note, the audio for this video footage begins after 40 seconds)

Click on the following links to find out more about the PFA’s player recognition program.

PFA Champions

The PFA Rules provide for awards of recognition to be made to PFA Life Members for exceptional leadership and contribution. This form of recognition is named “PFA Champion” and sits as the PFA’s highest honour. In 2009, Craig Foster joined Kimon Taliadoros and Alex Tobin as the only PFA servants so far honoured in this way.

PFA Alex Tobin OAM Medal 

The PFA Alex Tobin OAM Medal will be awarded annually by the PFA Executive to a current or former player who demonstrates four outstanding attributes: (1) leadership; (2) achievement as a player; (3) commitment to one’s fellow professionals; and (4) service and dedication to the game. Click here to view footage of 2009 Alex Tobin Medallist, Liverpool legend Craig Johnston, receiving his award from Australia's Footballers'.

PFA Kimon Taliadoros Scholarship

The PFA Kimon Taliadoros Scholarships are awarded annually to two players who demonstrate excellence in their development off the field, such as through education, business or community involvement.  One scholarship will recognise excellent achievement by a young player (under 23) still forging and building his career as a professional footballer.  The second will recognise achievement by a player in preparing for life after football as his playing career approaches its end.

PFA Footballers of the Year

In March 2009, a PFA tradition was initiated with the launch of the PFA Footballer of the Year and PFA Harry Kewell Medal awards.  The PFA has subsequently inaugurated the PFA Women's Footballer of the Year (in October 2010). The awards are a first in Australian football as they are open to players plying their trade both at home and abroad.

PFA A-League Team of the Year 

Voted on by all A-League footballers, the PFA's A-League Team of the Year reflects outstanding on field performances from PFA members. The team has a 4-3-3 formation and 5 places for substitutes.


PFA Heroes Program: Fawkner, Vic

The 8 lesson program teaches values to students that include respect, fair play, teamwork and leadership. Click here for more.