Professional Footballers Australia Home

PFA Harry Kewell Medalist 2013 - Marco Rojas

PFA Harry Kewell Medallist 2012 - Mathew Ryan

PFA Harry Kewell Medallist 2011 - Robbie Kruse

PFA Harry Kewell Medallist 2010 - Mitch Langerak

PFA Harry Kewell Medallist 2009 - Nikita Rukavytsya

PFA Harry Kewell Medal

Harry Kewell is arguably Australia's most famous player, bursting on the scene at international level as an 19 year old in 1997 by scoring twice against Iran as Australia fell agonisingly short of qualification for the 1998 FIFA World Cup finals in France.  A month later, Harry's winner against Uruguay saw the Socceroos qualify for the final of the 1997 FIFA Confederations Cup, the first major international final Australia reached.

Harry has also had an outstanding club career in England and Turkey.  His honours include the 2005 UEFA Champions League with Liverpool, a runners up medal in 2007, the 2006 FA Cup and the English PFA Young Footballer of the Year Award in 2000.

The PFA has named its young player of the year award in honour of Harry.  In his words:

"Whenever I take the Field, either for the Socceroos or my club, I am representing my country.  The PFA Awards recognise this common bond all Australians share as we ply our trade around the world."

"I am deeply honoured to have the PFA Young Footballer of the Year Award named in honour of me.  Australia's footballing future depends on the continued development of outstanding young players, and I hope this award will provide another incentive for young players to aspire to excel at the game's highest levels."

"Being judged by the players you play against is the common link that gives these awards such status with the fans and importance with the players"

Nikita Rukavytsya, then Perth Glory, became the inaugural PFA Harry Kewell Medallist in 2009.  A year later, he played for Australia at the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa.


PFA Heroes Program: Fawkner, Vic

The 8 lesson program teaches values to students that include respect, fair play, teamwork and leadership. Click here for more.