Recognising Excellence, On and Off the Pitch

  • Behind the 90 Minutes

    Behind the 90 Minutes

  • Your Organisation

    GO >>
  • Your Organisation
    PFA Awards
    7 January 2015, Melbourne

    The PFA player awards and recognition program acknowledges the outstanding achievements of PFA members in the many different dimensions of a footballers life. The program rewards members who have achieved on field excellence, excelled in areas away from the field of play, contributed to other areas of Australian football or made contributions to fellow professionals that have transformed the career paths enjoyed by the footballers of today.

    PFA Champions

    The PFA Rules provide for awards of recognition to be made to PFA Life Members for exceptional leadership and contribution. This form of recognition is named “PFA Champion” and sits as the PFA’s highest honour.


    • Alex Tobin, date
    • Craig Foster, 2009
    • Kimon Taliadoros, 2009

    PFA Alex Tobin OAM Medal

    The PFA Alex Tobin OAM Medal is awarded annually by the PFA Executive to a current or former player who demonstrates four outstanding attributes: (1) leadership; (2) achievement as a player; (3) commitment to one’s fellow professionals; and (4) service and dedication to the game.


    • Johnny Warren, 2008
    • Joe Marston, 2008
    • Craig Johnston, 2009
    • Mark Viduka, 2011
    • Frank Farina, 2012
    • Mark Schwarzer, 2014

    PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year

    The PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year is voted on by all female members on a 3-2-1 basis to determine the winner. The winner receives a golden medal featuring Matildas legend Cheryl Salisbury’s image.Cheryl Salisbury’s achievements in the game stand alone.  In a career of many highlights that included 151 internationals and almost 40 goals as a central defender, she led Australia’s women’s team (the Matildas) to the quarter finals of the 2007 FIFA Women’s World Cup, at Olympic Football tournaments and was regularly selected for the FIFA World Xl.


    • Servet Uzulnar, 2010
    • Elise Kellond-Knight, 2011
    • Lydia Williams, 2012
    • Samantha Kerr, 2013
    • Katrina Gorry, 2014

    PFA Footballer of the Year

    Established in 2009 the PFA Footballer of the Year recognises excellence for club and country, with all A-League players and Australian’s based overseas eligible for the award. Voted on by all of the PFA’s male members, the medal presented to the PFA Footballer of the Year features the images of the late Johnny Warren and Joe Marston, two founders of the modern career path for Australia’s professional footballers.


    • Tim Cahill, 2009
    • Mark Schwarzer, 2010
    • Matt McKay, 2011
    • Brett Holman, 2012
    • Robbie Kruse, 2013
    • Mile Jedinak, 2014

    PFA Harry Kewell Medal

    The PFA Harry Kewell Medal recognises outstanding achievement by an U23 footballer playing in the A-League or Australian based overseas. The award was named in honour of one of Australia’s greatest ever players – Harry Kewell. The Socceroos great enjoyed a truly stellar career, winning the UEFA Champions League and FA Cup, appearing at the 2006 and 2010 FIFA World Cup Finals for the Socceroos and being named as the Oceania Footballer of the Year on three occasions.


    • Nikita Rukavytsya, 2009
    • Mitch Langerak, 2010
    • Robbie Kruse, 2011
    • Mathew Ryan, 2012
    • Marco Rojas, 2013
    • Mathew Ryan, 2014

    PFA A-League Team of the Season

    Established in 2009 the PFA A-League Team of the Season reflects outstanding on field performances by A-League based PFA members. Voted on by all of the PFA’s A-League members, with players asked to vote on a 16 player squad playing in a 4-3-3 formation including a goalkeeper, a defender, three midfielders and a forward as the elite team’s substitutes. The captain of the side is selected by the PFA Awards Committee which boasts a collection of some of the greatest former Australian football professionals, journalists and football analysts in the game.

The players also vote on the Coach and Referee of the Season.

    PFA A-League Player of the Month

    Recognising on pitch excellence of the PFA’s A-League based members the PFA A-League Player of the Month was established in 2014. Members vote on a 3-2-1 basis on a shortlist selected by an awards committee, which made up for former Socceroos and leading figures in the Australian football media.

    PFA Kimon Taliadoros Scholarship

    The PFA Kimon Taliadoros Scholarships are awarded annually to two players who demonstrate excellence in their development off the field, such as through education, business or community involvement.  One scholarship will recognise excellent achievement by a young player (under 23) still forging and building his career as a professional footballer.  The second will recognise achievement by a player in preparing for life after football as his playing career approaches its end. Each scholarship winner is awarded $5,000.


    • Adam D’Apuzzo, 2008
    • Andrew Clark, 2008
    • Daniel Mullen, 2009
    • Karl Dodd, 2009
    • Ben Kantarovski, 2011
    • Jamie Harnwell, 2011
    • Tim Brown, 2012
    • Kliment Taseski, 2012
    • Zac Anderson, 2014
    • Terry McFlynn, 2014

    PFA Craig Foster Media Scholarship

    Awarded annually to an Australian footballer with the ambition to forge a career in the football media on completion of their playing career. The scholarship is named after PFA Champion Craig Foster in honour of his contribution to the game in this country. Each scholarship winner is awarded $5,000.


    • Ross Aloisi, 2011
    • Jamie Harnwell, 2012
    • Grant Brebner, 2014

    PFA Player Development Scholarship

    Proudly supported by PFA partner, NSR Australia, the PFA Player Development scholarship was established in 2014. The scholarship’s aim is to assist and acknowledge the efforts of PFA members in pursuing off-field development. Each scholarship winner is awarded $5,000.


    • Shannon Cole, 2014

    The PFA Awards are proudly supported by PFA Major Corporate Partner LUCRF Super. 


    Website designed by The Big Grin Design Pty Ltd